Health and Responsibility #6

The Foundation of Well-Being

Welcome to this week`s Newsletter!

“Your Weekly 3xBs Dose” is not just another newsletter in your inbox. Here, you'll find ideas You can simply put into action directly. Think of it as your weekly dose of inspiration served with a side of real-world “wisdom.”

I’m Lotta Spjut, on the verge of celebrating a half-century of life, who believes in the power of sharing inspiring stories and practical advice.

If You were with me last week, I hope You took the time to test any tips I shared for boosting your body, brain and business. I shared about how to Start 2024 with Realistic Goals.

In this week´s newsletter, we explore:

  • The underestimated role of responsibility in health

  • Practical steps to embrace personal responsibility

  • How the 3xBs – Body, Brain, and Business – are impacted by our sense of responsibility

🌟 Discover why taking charge of your own well-being is essential and how it intertwines with the 3xBs approach to create a balanced and fulfilling life.

Here´s my sharing for this week. I hope You find something valuable for your life and business this week.

When we discuss health and well-being, our thoughts often gravitate towards diet and exercise - the visible aspects of health. However, there's a critical component that's frequently overlooked but deserves top billing: responsibility.

When You think about health and well-being, responsibility might not come to mind immediately, but it plays a pivotal role. It's about owning our actions and choices. I've noticed that it's all too common to adopt a victim mentality, expecting others to solve our problems. It's a natural human reaction, and I sometimes fall into this pattern.

Ultimately, we're the ones responsible for our well-being. I must make changes if I'm not feeling good or satisfied with my life. No one else can do that for me. Health and responsibility support and strengthen each other. When we develop a healthy relationship with responsibility, our well-being naturally improves.

Here's what we're diving into this week:

Health and Responsibility: A Vital Connection

Practical Steps to Embrace Responsibility

  • Be Honest: If asked about your desires or dislikes, respond truthfully. Your health journey starts with authenticity.

  • Evaluate Relationships: End draining friendships that don't change despite repeated attempts. This act of self-care directly impacts your mental well-being.

  • Seek Support: If you're struggling, don't bottle it up. Confide in someone You trust.

  • Initiate Change: If you seek more challenges at work, communicate with your boss. If You want new friendships, explore online communities with like-minded individuals.

  • Rest When Needed: It's okay to cancel plans for rest and recuperation. Your body and mind will thank You.

  • Understanding Self-Care: Many grew up believing that putting themself first was selfish. However, I've learned that there's a healthy balance. Ensuring your own well-being is crucial because it enables You to give your best to others. If I'm in good spirits and take care of myself, I am more effective in my roles – as a business professional, mother, wife, friend, and CEO.

  • Nuancing Egoism and Responsibility: It's about balancing being self-focused and responsible. True responsibility involves ensuring You are at your best, not just for yourself but for those around You. It's not selfishness; it's self-care, or perhaps a 'healthy egoism'.

The 3xBs Approach to Health and Responsibility

Body: Taking care of your physical health is a fundamental responsibility. It's not just about exercise and diet; it's about listening to your body's needs and responding appropriately.

Brain: Mental health thrives on responsibility, too. Whether it's setting boundaries, practicing mindfulness, or seeking professional help when needed, being responsible for your mental wellness is a form of self-respect and care.

Business: In your professional life, responsibility involves making ethical decisions, balancing work with personal life, and setting realistic goals. It's about creating a business environment that supports your overall well-being.

Reflecting and Acting with Purpose

As we are already 15 days into 2024, let’s use the lens of responsibility to evaluate and guide our actions. Ask yourself:

  • How can I take more responsibility for my health and happiness this year?

  • What habits or relationships do I need to re-evaluate or change?

  • How can I prioritize my well-being in my personal and professional life?

Remember, taking responsibility for your health, happiness, and success is the best gift You can give yourself.

Highlights from last Week's Posts. (In case You missed the action):

Here's to a week of making conscious choices, embracing our responsibilities, and enjoying the journey to our best selves!

I wish You a day of strength, clarity and success!